Police Reform Task Force

On June 12th of this year, Governor Cuomo issued Executive Order 203, entitled "New York State Police Reform and Reinvention Collaborative".

Mayor Meg Kelly has convened a Task Force who will consider evidence-based policing strategies in consultation with members of the community, interested non-profit and faith based community groups, the District Attorney's Office, the Public Defender's Office, local elected officials, and membership of our police force.  The Task Force will create a plan to improve police force deployments, strategies, policies, procedures, and practices which are tailored to the specific needs of our community and are intended to promote and improve police and community relationships based on trust, fairness, accountability, and transparency, and which seek to reduce any racial disparities in policing.

The Task Force will present their recommendations to the City Council and the public. After consideration of all public comments and input, the City Council will be required to adopt a plan by local law or resolution on or before April 1, 2021 and implement the recommendations.

Task Force Members:

Camille Daniels (Co-Chairperson) 
Jason Golub (Co-Chairperson)
Vince DeLeonardis, City Attorney
Winston Grady-Willis, Skidmore College
Terry Diggory, Saratoga Immigration Coalition
Daesha Harris, MLK
Chuck Caputo, Saratoga Pride
Shane Crooks, Chief of Police
Andrew Sephas
Cecilia Hayes
Steven Boxley
Kimberly A. Galvin

n Dart

Related Documents