Climate Smart Task Force

About the Climate Smart Task Force

The Climate Smart Task Force is part of the Climate Smart Communities Program, a New York State initiative to help local communities reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, prepare for impacts of climate change and save taxpayer dollars.

Important Documents

Committee Members

Rayna Caldwell, Chair
Ruth Horton
Kathleen O’Conner
Dan Barusch
William Becker
Karen Kellogg
Steve Kasselman
Karen Tortino
Tina Carton, Admin of Parks, Open Lands, Historic Preservation, and Sustainability


The Climate Smart Task Force participates in educational activities and campaigns that serve to educate residents and businesses on climate change as well as methods to reduce energy consumption, increase energy efficiency, and develop new sources of clean, renewable power.

The Climate Smart Task Force initiated Solarize Saratoga to help homeowners and small businesses through the process of going solar while saving up to 20% of total installation costs. Please reach out to Tina Carton at if you are interested in the learning how the committee can assist your home, organization and / or business.